Start your quote!
Start your quote!
Insurance regulations vary from one state to another, and it is important that you have the right knowledge and the information on hand so that you can make an informed decision about what type of insurance you need.
IT’S NOT MY FAULT!
Florida returned to a no-fault auto insurance system in 2008. The law restored a requirement that Florida drivers hold a minimum of $10,000 worth of personal injury protection coverage. It also resumed a no-fault system that protects motorists from being sued in most cases after an accident.
Insurance companies had argued for the demise of a system riddled with fraud and a lack of controls on disbursements to those making claims as the result of a collision. Meanwhile, hospitals and other medical care providers had expressed concern that, without the requirement, they would be forced to bear the burden of millions of dollars in uncompensated care costs for crash victims who don’t have health insurance. These are all legitimate concerns, and lawmakers have restored the system with a bevy of new anti-fraud controls.
According to the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), all drivers in Florida must have auto insurance coverage.
Typical Florida car insurance quotes include the following coverage types:
Liability – insurance for property damage and injuries to others caused by you while operating your vehicle.
Medical – coverage for the driver and occupants of the insured vehicle.
Comprehensive – protection from damage caused by things other than vehicle collision.
Florida no-fault insurance law requires minimum coverage of their insurance:
- Drivers must have a personal injury protection of at least $ 10,000.
- Drivers must have bodily injury coverage of at least $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident.
- Drivers must have a property damage liability of at least $ 10,000.
- Drivers must have uninsured motorist coverage of at least $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident.
Florida Teen Driver Laws
The state of Florida has special driving rules for teen drivers. At the age of 15, teens are eligible to apply for a learner’s permit. The learner’s permit allows the teen to drive during daylight hours and only up to 10 p.m. After the teen has had a learner’s permit for at least one year, he or she may apply for an operator’s license which allows them to drive between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. At 17, teens can drive between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. These restrictions are lifted when a driver reaches 18 years of age. Disobeying these rules may result in fines or suspension of the license.
I hope you now have a better understanding of some of the basic rules and regulations regarding auto insurance in Florida. If you are in need of affordable Florida car insurance contact us by calling our number.