Do not think of driving without car insurance in Richmond, Virginia.
If you are caught driving without car insurance in Richmond, expect to be served a Class 3 misdemeanor and have your license and vehicle registration suspended, including a $500 fine and required filing of an SR-22. This certificate proves you are carrying the state minimum amount of coverage. Expect your premiums to rise significantly as a result.
Remember, Virginia’s minimum liability insurance requirements are $30,000 for bodily injury/death per person, $60,000 for bodily injury/death per accident, and $20,000 for property damage.
Other infractions requiring Richmond drivers to file an SR-22 include driving under the influence (DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving with a suspended license, and being charged for repeated traffic offenses within a short period.