The Show-Me state has a lot to see. Whether you’re there to see the Gateway Arch in St. Louis, enjoy a live show in Branson, or eat fantastic BBQ in Kansas City, you’ll never run out of things to do or see in this beautiful Midwest state. While you are traveling up and down the I-35 or the I-70 in your vehicle, make sure you have adequate car insurance.
If you are a resident, you will need Missouri auto insurance that meets the state’s minimum requirements.
Missouri Car Insurance Requirements
Missouri requires drivers to maintain two types of car insurance coverage: liability coverage and uninsured motorist (UM) coverage.
The minimum amounts of liability coverage are:
$25,000 for bodily injury per person.
$50,000 for total bodily injury (when multiple people are injured).
$25,000 for total property damage.
Liability insurance covers you if you cause damage to someone’s property or cause bodily injury in an accident where you are at fault. Liability insurance does not cover your vehicle or injuries. These are just the minimum car insurance requirements; you can and should purchase more coverage in case the damage costs more than your policy will pay for. You also want to make sure you are covered if you get injured.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist (UM) insurance covers you and your passengers’ medical costs if the at-fault driver has no insurance, is underinsured, or if you’re the victim of a hit and run. Missouri requires UM coverage of $25,000 in bodily injury per person and $50,000 in bodily injury per accident.
Missouri Auto Insurance
Missouri is an “at-fault” state, which means that the person who was at fault for causing the car accident is also financially responsible for damage, injuries, etc. Make sure that your car insurance coverage is active so that you are not paying out-of-pocket.
Freeway provides car insurance Missouri residents can depend on. Our Missouri car insurance is reliable, affordable, and available to all drivers regardless of history. We insure high-risk drivers in Missouri, so if you have a DUI and need an SR-22, contact us today.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Missouri
It is illegal to drive a vehicle in Missouri without liability insurance. If you get pulled over and fail to provide proof of insurance, you will receive a ticket for “No Insurance,” “No Proof of Insurance,” “Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility,” or “Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance,” even if the car is insured. If you can prove you had proper coverage at the time of the citation on or before the court date, most courts will dismiss your “no insurance” ticket before putting it on your record.
If you don’t present valid proof of car insurance when requested by law enforcement at a traffic stop or the scene of an accident, you can be charged with a Class D misdemeanor in Missouri. For the 1st offense, your driver’s license, registration, and license plates are suspended until you can prove you’ve obtained insurance. To regain driving privileges, you will need to pay a $20 fee.
“No Insurance” traffic tickets stay on your Missouri driving record forever.\
Other penalties include fines up to $400, jail time, and points on your driving record. If you are in a car accident with no valid Missouri car insurance, you may have to pay fines up to thousands of dollars and are financially responsible for injuries and damages.
Don’t drive without car insurance in Missouri. Freeway offers affordable Missouri car insurance that will meet your needs and budget.
Cheap Auto Insurance Missouri
Freeway Insurance provides cheap auto insurance for all drivers in Missouri. If you are a new driver, a driver with multiple violations, or someone who needs cheap Missouri car insurance, call us today.
We provide free car insurance quotes Missouri drivers have come to appreciate. We do all the hard work for you. We work with the top insurance companies and shop around, so you don’t have to. Our Missouri car insurance quotes are customized to your needs.