Skip to main content

Cheap Car Insurance in Mississippi

Illustration of a car driving down a road next to a field with a highway banner that reads

As the 20th state admitted to the Union, Mississippi is located in the Gulf coastal plain. It is bordered to the west by the Mississippi River and the south by the Gulf of Mexico. Although the state is largely rural, it has attracted its share of tourism through its beaches and historical landmarks.

Something Mississippi has in common with other states is that it requires all drivers to maintain liability insurance. This insurance is in place to protect motorists from the financial cost of an accident. Given the consequences of a vehicle collision, you must ensure you have the appropriate car insurance coverage when driving in Mississippi.

Quick Facts

  • There are approximately 837,000 cars registered in Mississippi
  • Using any type of mobile device while driving in Mississippi increases the risk of an accident
  • Highway I-55 is the most dangerous highway in the State of Mississippi
  • There were 581 traffic fatalities in Mississippi in 2019

How Much is Car Insurance in Mississippi?

In Mississippi, the average cost of full coverage car insurance is $1,782 per year. When it comes to car insurance, this rate is lower than the nation as a whole at $1,935. The state-required minimum or liability car insurance costs on average are $492 per year.

Of course, numerous factors can go into determining your car insurance rate quote. Drivers with similar backgrounds could face very different premiums depending on things like the type of car they drive to their history of previous accidents.

What is the Average Premium in Mississippi for Full Coverage Car Insurance?

In Mississippi, the average cost of full coverage car insurance per year is $1,782 per year.

The type of policy you select will play an important role in determining how much you spend on car insurance each year. While the minimum amount of liability coverage required by law might be the cheapest option, full coverage car insurance could be your best choice.

Full coverage consists of the state-required minimum or liability coverage, plus collision and comprehensive. Collision will pay for damages to your vehicle after an accident up to your policy limit even if you were at fault, while comprehensive pays for damage or theft to your vehicle in circumstances other than a car crash up to your policy limit. The cost of full coverage car insurance could be thought of as an investment for the future.

How Much Is It for Just the Minimum State Required Car Insurance in Mississippi?

In Mississippi, the average for minimum state required coverage is $492 per year. This premium provides for the minimum level of coverage required by state law, which is:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage per accident

Some drivers are more interested in the lower premiums that come with minimum coverage or liability insurance. Others might believe they simply can’t afford full coverage. In any case, countless Mississippi drivers select liability policies that provide for the bare minimum required by law.

Liability insurance pays for damages and injuries to the other driver(s) if you are found to be at fault in an accident. While it can cover lawsuits filed by other drivers against you, it will not pay your own damages from the accident. Unless you have a viable claim against another party, you could be stuck paying those repair bills by yourself.

For that reason, it could be in your best interest to keep liability insurance at a level above the minimum required under state law. You have the option to purchase additional coverage, which could protect you from a civil lawsuit should you cause an accident. The right level of insurance coverage can provide peace of mind every time you get behind the wheel.

How do Rates Compare Across Major Cities in Mississippi?

Where you live in Mississippi will factor into your car insurance premium. Accidents are more typically common in cities than in rural areas, so it should come as no surprise that insurance is typically more expensive in those communities.

In fact, insurers also look closer, taking into account your zip code to determine your premium. See the table below for the cities with the highest monthly average premiums in Mississippi.

City Full Coverage Insurance Liability Insurance Coverage
Jackson $150 $41
Gulfport $147 $44
Biloxi $145 $42
Tupelo $121 $33

Unless otherwise specified, we use the following methodology to arrive at our average cost: male, age 30, lowest possible legal coverage allowed by state. Your rates will be determined by several factors, including your age, your gender and the amount of coverage you want to purchase.

Is there a Good Driver Discount in Mississippi?

There is a good driver discount for motorists in the State of Mississippi. To qualify for this discount, it is necessary to avoid any accidents as well as any traffic tickets. This discount could make a significant difference in your annual premiums.

The good driver discount is only one of the discounts that might be available to you. Some of the most popular examples include:

Graphic of a man driving a car

Discounts for completing a defensive driving course

Illustration of a smiling person

Renewal discounts for repeat customers

Blue icon of a graduation cap

Good student discounts

Blue icon of two cars

Discounts for drivers with multiple vehicles

Pink icon of a document with a checklist

Discounts for paperless or automatic billing

Blue icon of a blue car

Reduced premiums for limited driving

You might be surprised at the number of discounts that could be available to you. Some discounts are not widely publicized which could make a tremendous impact on the cost of your premiums.

Thankfully, you do not have to identify the right discounts on your own. Your insurance agent can work with you to ensure that you get the best rate possible.

Getting a Free Auto Insurance quote with Freeway is easy!

Mississippi Car Insurance Laws

Mississippi is no different from the other 50 states in that they require some form of proof of financial responsibility for all drivers. Typically, this involves carrying a minimum level of liability insurance to protect you – and others – in the case of an accident.

Insurance requirements for drivers are governed by the Mississippi Insurance Department. State law sets a minimum level of liability coverage that every driver must abide by. The state minimums include:

  • $25,000 for bodily injuries per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injuries per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

It is not enough to hold the minimum levels of coverage when you get behind the wheel. The law also requires you to carry proof of your insurance coverage with you each time you drive. The failure to have your proof of insurance could lead to serious consequences.

It is also important to remember that while the state sets minimum coverage requirements, you have the option to purchase more coverage. While additional coverage might cost more, it could benefit you financially to protect yourself from third-party liability claims from other drivers and damages and injuries following an accident.

What is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Mississippi?

Compared to other states, the penalties associated with driving without insurance in Mississippi are relatively low. Other jurisdictions threaten drivers with the risk of incarceration for driving without insurance. That is not the case in Mississippi.

While there is no risk of jail for driving without insurance in the state, there are some consequences that can come with driving without insurance. Upon a conviction, you could face a fine of up to $1,000 and the suspension of your driver’s license for up to 12 months.

However, if the driver can show proof of insurance at his or her hearing date, the fine may be reduced to $100. If the driver had insurance at the time he or she was issued a citation and can prove it, the fine will be waived.

Mississippi is also different from other states because it does not impose escalating penalties for multiple offenses. Many states dramatically increase the penalties associated with second or subsequent offenses for driving without insurance. But in Mississippi, the penalties are the same for each offense.

Either way, driving without insurance can lead to penalties and higher insurance rates.

There are a few different requirements for reinstating your license after a suspension due to a lack of insurance coverage. You must maintain your SR-22 insurance for at least three years and pay a reinstatement fee to get your license back.

What Factors Does Mississippi Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?

When insurance companies set the cost of a driver’s premium, they rely on numerous factors to reach that amount. Because so many different factors are in play, two drivers with numerous similarities can have very different quotes.

There is a reason for every factor the insurance companies rely on when making policy decisions. Each of these factors is linked in some way to an increased likelihood of an accident. For example, accidents are more common in some zip codes compared to others. In those zip codes, the cost of insurance is typically higher. Some of the factors that insurance companies commonly use to set insurance premiums include:

  • Age
  • Zip code
  • Accident history
  • Claim history
  • Type of vehicle
  • Marital status
  • Gender
  • Credit score

Any of these factors could increase the cost of your insurance. Thankfully, there are also ways to bring those costs back down. For example, driving an older vehicle could reduce the amount of coverage you need. Making the most of available discounts is another way you could reduce your annual insurance bill.

Am I Required to Report an Accident in Mississippi to Authorities?

Most of the time, you are required to report an accident to the police in Mississippi immediately after it occurs. While rare, there are situations where reporting an accident is not necessary. That said, it could benefit you to notify the police of an accident under any circumstances. The police report could be invaluable to you in the future if an insurance claim is filed.

The Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires that the police submit a written report in certain circumstances. In each of these, you are required to notify law enforcement regarding the accident right away. It is necessary to notify the police of an accident if it involves injury, death, or property damage totaling $500 or more.

There are only a limited number of accidents that do not meet this threshold, and each of them is exceedingly minor. Even somewhat minor property damage is likely to exceed the $500 threshold. Any type of bodywork — even for a minor accident—could cost more than $1,000.

Image office

Find an office near you to help with your auto insurance

What is Driving Like in Mississippi?

How Many Car Accidents Happen in Mississippi?

There is no easy way to identify the total number of car accidents that occur in Mississippi each year. However, there is data regarding traffic fatalities. See the table below for a selected few counties.

County (City) Fatal Car Accidents in 2019
Hinds (Jackson) 48
Harrison (Gulfport & Biloxi) 27
Lee (Tupelo) 13
Rankin (Pearl) 10

How Many Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists are in Mississippi?

Mississippi law requires drivers to maintain liability insurance, but not every driver will comply. In fact, Mississippi has the highest rate of uninsured drivers compared to every other state in the nation. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), approximately 29.4 percent of Mississippi drivers lack insurance.

This figure only takes into account the entirely uninsured drivers. It does not account for the underinsured motorists in the state. A person is underinsured if they have coverage, but not enough to pay for all of the damages in a vehicle accident.

Given the risk of an accident with an uninsured driver, it is important to protect yourself financially. Full coverage auto insurance could provide you with benefits for your damages regardless of who was at fault. You also have the option to purchase uninsured motorist coverage to pay you benefits when you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver.

FAQs About Mississippi Car Insurance

I Am a Low-Income Driver. What Can I do About Getting Car Insurance in Mississippi?

If you make the right choices, you could afford a liability policy even on a tight budget. While you might be limited to the minimum required under the law, an insurance agent could help you save money by seeking out helpful discounts.

Can an Undocumented Worker Get Car Insurance in Mississippi?

In Mississippi, an undocumented worker cannot get car insurance. This is because the state will not issue a driver’s license to an undocumented immigrant. This is the approach that most states take, although certain jurisdictions do allow undocumented immigrants to obtain driving privileges. Without a valid license, the insurance companies will not issue a policy.

Is it Possible to Get Car Insurance in Mississippi with a DUI on My Record?

Having a conviction for DUI will not automatically bar you from obtaining liability insurance in Mississippi. That said, it could make it more difficult for you to get the coverage you need at a reasonable price.

If you have a DUI on your record, you can expect to pay higher rates for your premiums. As time goes on, the impact a conviction has on your rates will go down. That said, you could continue to miss out on safe driver discounts for years due to your arrest and conviction.

Get Low-Cost Mississippi Car Insurance Quotes Online Today!

Welcome to Mississippi highway sign

Freeway Insurance is ready to help you pursue the right insurance policy at a price that works for you. We understand the financial strain that can come with owning a car, and we are committed to reducing the premiums you must pay. If you are ready to learn more about your insurance options, you can get a quote online or visit us at an office near you. You can also call us at (800) 777-5620 for a free quote. Reach out to us right away!