Driving without car insurance in Louisiana will result in a surefire headache and plenty of aggravation.
First offenses for driving without car insurance will result in DMV fees anywhere between $500 and $1,000, along with a $50 reinstatement fee, license/registration suspension, and the possibility of vehicle impoundment. Offenders are also banned from claiming collision-related losses.
Second and third/subsequent offenses will see higher reinstatement fees ($150 to $500).
One significant difference between Louisiana and other states is its No Pay, No Play Law. Its No Pay, No Play Law prevents drivers from being compensated by the other affected party’s insurance company if caught driving uninsured, in line with thresholds to property damage (first $25,000) and personal injury ($15,000).
In some cases, drivers may be required to file SR-22 insurance in order to have their driver’s license and/or registration re-instated.