Louisiana has a proud tradition of culture, music, and food. It is a unique state with a variety of cultures, with much to offer from New Orleans to rural northern Louisiana and all points in between. It is not unusual to find a steady stream of traffic up and down Louisiana highways with so much to see.
Like with all states, car insurance is mandatory in Louisiana. If you are pulled over without the proper insurance coverage, you could face steep financial consequences. An accident could be even more costly without proper coverage. The good news is that you could obtain affordable car insurance in Louisiana despite your circumstances.
- There are nearly 1.4 million registered vehicles in Louisiana.
- The population of Louisiana is more than 4.6 million people.
- Each year, there is an average of 681 traffic fatalities on Louisiana roads.
- Highway I-10 is the deadliest stretch of roadway in Louisiana.
- Most accidents in Louisiana involve alcohol use, aggressive driving, or distraction.
Is There a Good Driver Discount in Louisiana?
The good driver discount is only one of the discounts available in the State of Louisiana. In fact, these discounts are some of the best ways to get cheap car insurance. In addition to a good driver discount, other discounts offered by Freeway include:
- Defensive driving discounts
- Good student discounts
- Lower rates for driving less
- Multi-policy discounts
- Paperless billing discounts
Louisiana Car Insurance Laws
As is the case with most states, there are mandatory requirements for Louisiana car insurance. State law not only sets the minimum amount of insurance coverage you are required to carry. It also determines what factors impact your premiums and what you must do following a car accident. There are also penalties written into state law regarding the failure to carry adequate liability insurance.
What are the Mandatory Car Insurance Requirements in Louisiana?
There is a minimum level of liability insurance that every driver must carry in Louisiana. Liability insurance is only one type of insurance coverage available to drivers in the state. This type of coverage is designed to protect you from third-party claims after an accident. In other words, liability coverages pay for any damages you might have caused when an accident is your fault. What liability coverage does not pay for are the losses you suffer. You must purchase additional coverage for your provider to cover your losses after a crash. This type of coverage is not mandatory under state law. Mandatory coverage levels in Louisiana include:
- Bodily injury coverage: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident
- Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
- Medical Payments: $1,000
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
What Factors Does Louisiana Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?
There are several factors insurance companies consider when determining your premium rates. The variance that can come with this process could lead to you having very different insurance rates than someone in a position similar to yours. The most important factors they take into account are:
- Your driving record, including accidents and tickets
- Your age. The younger you are, the higher your premiums are likely to be.
- The zip code you live in. The ones with higher accident rates typically result in higher insurance premiums.
- Your credit score. You can expect to pay more for insurance if your credit score is low, thanks to a study that suggested drivers with low scores make larger claims.
- The type of vehicle you drive. An older vehicle is less likely to carry high premiums than a sports car.
- Your gender. Male drivers often pay more, especially when they are young.
- Your marital status. You might be surprised to learn that your marital status could impact your rates.
- Your claims history. The number of insurance claims you have filed in the past is another common factor in determining the premiums you must pay. The more claims you have filed, the higher your premiums are likely to be.
What is Driving Like in Louisiana?
How Many Car Accidents Happen in Louisiana?
While there is no way to know the exact number of motor vehicle accidents in Louisiana in a given year, the state does track fatal collisions carefully. Out of the 4.6 million residents within the state, there were 681 traffic fatalities in 2019 alone. The number of accidents involving severe injuries or property damage is substantially higher.
How Many Motorists are Uninsured/Underinsured in Louisiana?
Although there are strict consequences for anyone caught driving without insurance in Louisiana, that does not entirely prevent individuals from getting behind the wheel without coverage. That said, Louisiana is in the middle of the pack compared to other states regarding the rate of uninsured motorists. It is estimated that nearly 12% of Louisiana drivers lack adequate liability coverage. This places the state 26th nationally on the list of states with the most uninsured motorists.
This number might be lower than many other states, but the chances of a collision with an uninsured driver are still substantial. An accident with an uninsured motorist could have devastating consequences, which makes it vital that you secure full coverage for your vehicle. In that case, you could rely on your own policy even if the other driver was uninsured.
FAQs About Louisiana Car Insurance
Being a low-income driver does not preclude you from securing the level of coverage you need. Freeway Insurance is proud to provide affordable options for Louisiana drivers.
It is important to take into account the level of coverage you receive. While paying more for full coverage might seem wasteful, you will be glad you have it following a serious accident.
Also, remember that there are steps you could take to lower your insurance bill. Ask your agent about all of the discounts you might qualify for. Your premiums could be less than you think, especially with a good driving record.
The State of Louisiana does not permit undocumented immigrants to obtain a driver’s license. Without a driver’s license, an undocumented immigrant can’t secure insurance coverage in the state.
That said, Louisiana will recognize a driver’s license and insurance coverage from another state. For example, a driver that is insured thanks to a Nevada Driver Authorization Card (DAC) could legally drive in Louisiana.
A DUI conviction can impact you in many ways, including affecting your ability to obtain insurance for your car. In the aftermath of a DUI, you could lose your ability to have a license entirely. Once your license is reinstated, you will be able to find the insurance coverage that will fit your circumstances.
If you have a DUI on your record, you will have to meet certain requirements to secure your ability to drive. The most common hurdle for drivers with a DUI on their record is a mandatory SR-22 license. While the term SR-22 is often used as a type of insurance coverage, it is technically a certificate offered by your insurance company and not an actual policy.
The certificate issued by your insurance company is intended to prove that you have secured the minimum level of liability insurance. An SR-22 is required not only after a DUI conviction but also in other situations, like for drivers caught operating their vehicle without a license. If you fail to maintain your policy, your insurer will notify the state about the lapse.
Mandatory SR-22 coverage can last for years after a DUI conviction. The amount of time an SR-22 certificate is required will often depend on the number of previous DUI convictions on your record.