More than eight million licensed drivers take to the roads and highways of Illinois every year. The state, which has more than four million registered vehicles, has averaged a little more than 1,000 car crashes in recent years. Car insurance providers know this and what it means, and so should you. With so many drivers on the road, the risk of a car crash can only increase. And that’s a fact that reflects on your premiums.
As an Illinois driver, you are required to have 25/50/20 car insurance coverage, at minimum. Below, we address some of the most crucial elements of car insurance that you need to know, including general car insurance insights and information on the major types of car insurance. Continue reading to learn how car insurance works and how you can find affordable car insurance in Illinois.
Get Low-Cost Illinois Auto Insurance
- Average premiums for full coverage in Illinois: $1,303
- Average premiums for the legal minimum in Illinois: $104
- Illinois drivers with a clean record and no claims history qualify for a 10% to 30% good driver discount
- The legal minimum of coverage is liability coverage with limits of 25/50/20
- Illinois is an at-fault state
- Illinois roads may not be the deadliest, but they’re also not the safest, with roughly 951 fatal crashes reported in 2018 and around 938 fatal crashes reported in 2019
- In 2019, 186 fatal crashes in Illinois were caused by unlicensed drivers
Is There a Good Driver Discount in Illinois?
Good driver discounts are available to all Illinois drivers through their insurers, with reductions factored in as:
- Policy discounts that reward customer loyalty. This includes registering for paperless billing, for example, or getting both home and auto policies from the same insurer
- Driver discounts that are available to those who are lower risk to insure, like experienced drivers with clean driving histories
- Vehicle discounts, which help drivers save money if their vehicles have certain safety features, for example, or anti-theft systems
Illinois Car Insurance Laws
Ensuring drivers are safe on the road is the top concern of Illinois Consumer Auto Insurance law, and so is making sure drivers are offered a fair pricing balance between car insurance providers and policyholders.
Auto insurance protects you from financial losses such as vehicle repairs, medical bills, and legal services that result from a crash you caused.
Illinois Mandatory Insurance law §625 ILCS 5/7-601 requires that all motor vehicle owners have minimum amounts of auto liability insurance. Under this law, lending institutions may also require physical damage insurance to protect their interest in a financed vehicle.
What Are the Mandatory Car Insurance Requirements in Illinois?
Illinois is an at-fault state, which means that the driver who causes a crash must pay for the other driver’s collision bills. The negligent driver’s insurance may also cover their own damages, depending on what their coverage options are.
Per Illinois Mandatory Insurance Law §625 ILCS 5/7-601, drivers must carry the minimum liability insurance for any vehicle registered in the state. The minimum coverage Illinois requires its drivers to carry is 25/50/20, or:
- $25,000 for the injury or death of one person in an accident that you cause,
- $50,000 total for all injuries or deaths in an accident that you cause, and
- $20,000 for damage to the property of another person in an accident that you cause.
What Factors Does Illinois Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?
Drivers who want cheap car insurance want to know how their premiums are calculated. If you know what goes into a calculation, you can hope to control where your rate lands.
There are many common data points insurance providers use in determining an appropriate car insurance rate for you, including age, education, occupation, and zip code. In Illinois, the criteria typically used are:
- Driving history
- Credit score
These criteria might also include:
- Your age, gender, and marital status
- Your coverage limits
- The type of vehicle you drive, how often you drive, and its annual mileage
- Where you live
What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Illinois?
- A $500 to $1,000 fine
- Have their license suspended, with a $100 fee to have it reinstated
- Be required to have SR-22 insurance for at least three years
These numbers are frustrating because many of these accidents could have easily been prevented. In 2018, 252 drivers and passengers were killed in fatal crashes across the state because they were not wearing a seat belt. Even more disturbing, of the 951 fatal crashes that happened in Illinois in 2018, 27% were alcohol-related. Help keep Illinois’ roads and highways safe by buckling up and not driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Every year, hundreds of drivers and passengers across the U.S. survive serious crashes, walking away with injuries. Be prepared. Ask yourself: What does surviving mean for your personal recovery, financial stability, and recouping your losses?
How Many Uninsured and Underinsured Motorists Are in Illinois?
In 2019, Illinois reported that roughly 11.8% of its drivers are on the road without insurance. Running the risk of being involved in a crash with an uninsured or underinsured motorist isn’t worth it. Uninsured Motorist Insurance coverage will keep you protected.
FAQs About Illinois Car Insurance
Illinois law requires that all drivers have insurance, but it may be too expensive for certain groups of people to get the mandatory minimum.
Illinois drivers who cannot find affordable car insurance might want to consider the Illinois Automobile Insurance Plan, managed by the Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO), a nonprofit management company.
Yes. Illinois allows undocumented workers to obtain a temporary visitor driver’s license for undocumented, non-visa status individuals. This license is valid for three years and is typically issued only in a Class D, L, M, DL, or DM, authorizing operation of a personal car, motorcycle, or motor-driven cycle.
Applicants between the ages of 18 and 20 must present proof of successful completion of a six-hour adult driver education and training course.
To be eligible for this license, an applicant must:
- Present acceptable documentation to show proof of Illinois residency for the prior 12 months
- Provide two acceptable documents for proof of current U.S. residency
- Be ineligible for a Social Security number
- Provide acceptable documentation that proves date of birth and verification of written signature
- Provide a valid passport or consular identification card
- Pay the appropriate fee and successfully complete a vision screening and the appropriate written and road tests
Applicants must also provide proof of insurance coverage for the vehicle they will be driving during the road test.
Yes, but you may have to find another insurance provider. Because having a DUI mark on your record makes you a high-risk driver, your insurer may either cancel your policy or raise your rate dramatically. You’ll need to obtain coverage from an insurer that specializes in high-risk policies.