Located off of Florida’s Gulf Coast, the Tampa Bay area’s a bustling metropolitan region that over 3.1 million Floridians call home, whether they live in St. Petersburg and commute to Tampa daily via the Sunshine Skyway Bridge or live in the area of Clearwater. Tampa itself boasts nearly 400,000 residents living within its city limits, hitting the roads and highways daily — and with good reason. With a vibrant nightlife, an array of beaches, a trendy cultural scene, historical Ybor City’s ties to 19th-century Cuban cigar makers, and several sports teams, Tampa offers ample opportunities for its residents to head out and enjoy living in this sunny Florida city. It’s no wonder Tampa has ranked among the top 25 U.S. cities with bad traffic in recent years.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Tampa?
If you’re a driver living in Tampa, Florida, you should expect to pay around $2,990 annually for full coverage car insurance. The amount you’ll be paying in Tampa is within an average range compared to other cities throughout Florida. By comparison, you’d pay roughly $197 less than a driver living in West Palm Beach, which is one of the more expensive cities.
The time drivers spend on roads and highways has led to the enactment of consumer protection laws, giving drivers in need of Florida car insurance some of the best coverage in the U.S.
|City||Average Annual Premium|
|West Palm Beach||$3,187|
Your zip code and age are two factors that auto insurers generally use to calculate your car insurance rates. Regarding your neighborhood, insurers typically consider the average number of accidents that occur in your zip code, as well as how many people reside in your area, what the average income there is, and what are the crime rates.
In terms of age, experience behind the wheel matters. Because younger drivers lack it, they typically have to pay a little more for auto coverage than more experienced drivers.
Tampa Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code
There are 27 zip codes in the Tampa area, and rates for each zip code vary based on several factors, including population density and average income. For example, drivers living in the 33603 zip code, which includes working-class and historic neighborhoods such as Wellswood, Rivercrest, Tampa Heights, and Ybor Heights, pay roughly $1,025 more for car insurance annually than drivers living in the Carrollwood neighborhood, which is zip code 33618. This might be because I-275 cuts through the 33603 zip code area, bringing a higher volume of traffic through it, whereas the Carrollwood neighborhood consists mostly of city streets and State Road 597.
The following table lists several zip codes in the Tampa area and the average insurance rates drivers will pay:
|ZIP Code||Average Premium|
Tampa Car Insurance Rates by Age
As we mentioned before, zip code and age are typically the two main factors insurers consider in calculating your annual auto rate. While marital status and gender can sometimes play a role, this information is not as significant as how old you are and where you live.
A young driver who lacks experience behind the wheel will usually pay more for car insurance than someone who has been driving for several years. As a driver gets older, they will usually see their rate begin to fall. Here is a look at the rates in Tampa based on age.
|Age||Average Annual Premium|
Keeping a clean driving record, with no crashes or tickets during the past three to five years, will keep your rates low.
Driving Conditions in Tampa
How Many Fatal Accidents Happen in Tampa?
In 2019, Florida reported 2,950 fatal crashes that resulted in 3,183 deaths. Of those fatal crashes, 64 occurred in Tampa, resulting in 68 deaths.
That same year, Hillsborough County, where Tampa is located, reported 219 alcohol-related fatal crashes, with blood-alcohol levels above the legal limits. These DUI crashes were around 7.4% of all fatal crashes that occurred throughout Florida in 2019.
How Are the Road Infrastructure and Bridges in Tampa?
From paving worn road surfaces to replacing traffic signs and city street lights, the City of Tampa Public Works department handles all infrastructure repairs across roughly 176 square miles of the city.
Three commuter bridges cross Tampa Bay to neighboring Pinellas County: the Howard Frankland Bridge (I-275), the Courtney Campbell Causeway (SR 60), and the Gandy Bridge (U.S. 92). Southern Tampa has the Sunshine Skyway Bridge linking it to the city of St. Petersburg, also in Pinellas County.
In 2016, the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) gave Florida an overall grade of C for several of its infrastructure challenges. “Driving on roads in need of repair in Florida costs each driver $425 per year,” according to the ASCE, “and 2.9% of bridges are rated structurally deficient.”
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Tampa
Florida is a no-fault state, which means drivers are required to cover their own bodily injury payments regardless of who caused the crash. According to Florida State Statute §324.021, drivers must carry the minimum liability insurance. Under Florida’s Financial Responsibility and No-Fault laws, vehicle owners must meet the following minimum limits:
- Property damage liability (PDL) – $10,000
- Personal injury protection (PIP) – $10,000
Factors Allowed in Tampa Car Insurance Rates
Across the nation, insurers rely on certain criteria to determine how much you’ll pay for car insurance. In Tampa, the criteria generally used are:
- Driving history
- Marital status
Discounts for Car Insurance in Tampa
Insurers typically extend discounts to drivers, and it’s in your best interest to consider these offers as a way to save money on your policy. Offers might include a:
- Good driver discount
- Multi-car discount
- Anti-theft discount
- Student discount
- Military discount
- Multi-policy discount
- Mature, retired, or senior discount
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Tampa?
All Florida drivers must carry the minimum amount of coverage or face having their license, license plate, and vehicle registration suspended for up to three years. If your license, license plate, and vehicle registration are revoked, you must provide the state with proof of insurance coverage and pay a $150 fee to have them all reinstated.
If your insurance lapses a second time within three years of the first occurrence, you must pay a $250 reinstatement fee. If this happens a third time in the three years that follow, the fee increases to $500.