Fort Lauderdale conjures up images of sunny surf sides, tall palm trees, and warm breezes sweeping in from the Atlantic. Just 25 minutes north of Miami, Fort Lauderdale is home to more than 165,500 Floridians who hit its roadways and highways to commute to work or hit the beach. While Miami traffic tends to be much worse, Fort Lauderdale has its own share of daily congestion, crashes, and traffic woes that make driving here anything but a paradise.
Get Low-Cost Florida Auto Insurance
- In 2021, Fort Lauderdale’s average annual car insurance premium for full coverage is $2,786 — that’s roughly 18.7% more than the statewide yearly average of $2,309.
- Fort Lauderdale reported 45 fatal crashes in 2019 that resulted in 46 fatalities. That’s roughly 1.53% of all fatal crashes in Florida that year.
Your zip code and your age are two factors insurers use to determine your car insurance rates. Statistics from the zip code area, which may include the average number of accidents, average income, population, and crime rates, are also typically considered. Because younger drivers have not had much time on the road, they are considered high risk and will typically pay more for coverage than more experienced drivers.
A driving record with no accidents or tickets will keep your rates low.
Driving Conditions in Fort Lauderdale
How Many Fatal Accidents Happen in Fort Lauderdale?
In 2019, Florida reported 2,950 fatal crashes that resulted in 3,183 deaths. Fort Lauderdale had a much lower number, with a total of 45 fatal crashes resulting in 46 deaths that same year.
Broward County, where Fort Lauderdale is located, reported 22 alcohol-related fatal crashes in 2019, with blood-alcohol levels above the legal limits. These DUI crashes made up roughly 19.8% of all crashes that occurred throughout Florida that year.
How Are the Road Infrastructure and Bridges in Fort Lauderdale?
The City of Fort Lauderdale Public Works Department is in charge of repairing deteriorating roadways, potholes, worn road surfaces, bridges, guardrails, traffic signage, and street lights across the city’s 36.3 square miles.
In 2016, the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) released its report card for the infrastructures across the U.S. and gave Florida an overall grade of C. According to the organization, Florida faces several infrastructure challenges. “Driving on roads in need of repair in Florida costs each driver $425 per year,” according to the ASCE, “and 2.9% of bridges are rated structurally deficient.”
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Fort Lauderdale
Because Florida is a no-fault state, drivers are required to cover their own bodily injury payments regardless of who caused the crash. Per Florida State Statute §324.021, drivers must carry the minimum liability insurance. Under Florida’s Financial Responsibility and No-Fault laws, vehicle owners must meet the following minimum limits:
- Property damage liability (PDL) – $10,000
- Personal injury protection (PIP) – $10,000
Factors Allowed in Fort Lauderdale Car Insurance Rates
Across the country, there are criteria insurers use to determine your car insurance rates. In Fort Lauderdale, Florida, the criteria used are:
- Driving history
- Marital status
Discounts for Car Insurance in Fort Lauderdale
Taking advantage of discounts available through your auto insurance carrier can save Fort Lauderdale drivers money. Discounts might include:
- Good driver discount
- Multi-car discount
- Anti-theft discount
- Student discount
- Military discount
- Multi-policy discount
- Mature, retired, or senior discount
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Fort Lauderdale?
Auto insurance is not an option in Fort Lauderdale, let alone the state of Florida. Drivers must carry the minimum amount of coverage or face having their license, license plate, and vehicle registration suspended for up to three years. They must then provide the state with proof of insurance coverage and pay a $150 fee to have their license, license plate, and vehicle registration reinstated.
If your insurance lapses a second time within three years of the first instance, you must pay a $250 reinstatement fee. If it happens a third time within the three years that follow, the fee increases to $500.