Start your quote!
Start your quote!
The Centennial State is beautiful. It has 222 state wildlife areas, hot springs, mountains, trails, and so much more. Denver has the largest city park system in the nation and a little known fact; it is illegal to drive a black car in Denver on Sundays. While the police won’t pull you over for breaking this antiquated law, there are new state laws that all licensed drivers must obey.
It is illegal to drive anywhere in the state without car insurance that meets the state’s minimum requirements. Read on to learn more about colorado driving laws and colorado insurance requirements.
Colorado Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Colorado state law requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability car insurance. Liability insurance covers bodily injury to another person or property damage to another’s vehicle or property. Failure to carry Colorado car insurance can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time.
The minimum car insurance requirements for Colorado drivers are:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person per accident or death to any one person in an accident
- $50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident or death to all persons in any one accident
- $15,000 property damage liability
Uninsured Motorist/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist insurance covers your bodily injury losses caused by a hit and run driver, a driver who has no liability automobile insurance or is underinsured. Colorado does not require you to carry additional coverage such as uninsured/underinsured motorist protection. However, insurance companies are required to offer it. If you reject it, you must do so in writing.
Penalties For Driving Without Colorado Auto Insurance
Car insurance is required in Colorado. If you are caught driving without proof of insurance, the penalties are steep.
- Four points against your driver’s license.
- First offense: minimum $500 fine and license suspension until you can provide proof of insurance to the DMV.
- Second offense: minimum $1,000 fine and license suspension for four months.
- Third and subsequent offenses: minimum $1,000 fine and license suspension for eight months.
- Courts may require up to 40 hours of community service.
There is a $40 reinstatement fee, and you must file an SR22 and maintain it for three years.
Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
Just like cars, all two or three-wheel motor vehicles in Colorado must be registered and insured. These vehicles include motorcycles, motor-powered bicycles, scooters, and any other engine-powered mode of transportation with three wheels or less (excluding farm tractors).
Motorcyclists in Colorado must adhere to the same minimum liability requirements as drivers of cars. Failure to carry motorcycle insurance can result in a $500 fine, four points on your driving record, and a possible suspension for the first offense.
Colorado Car Insurance Rates
A car insurance premium is calculated using several factors including:
- The type of car you are insuring
- How much you drive
- Your driving record
- Prior auto insurance coverage
- Your age
- How long you’ve been driving
- Your gender
- Your marital status
- Your geographic location
- Whether or not you use your car for business
Colorado also allows insurance companies to consider your credit rating to determine your premium.
Cheap Car Insurance Colorado
If you want to get cheap Colorado car insurance, you will have to call multiple car insurance companies to get multiple quotes. Or you can just call Freeway Insurance and get one free car insurance quote. Freeway works with the major car insurance companies in Colorado, so we can give you a customized quote in just a few minutes. Freeway has been providing cheap car insurance Colorado drivers can rely on. Give us a call today at 800-777-5620 to speak with an experienced agent to get your free Colorado car insurance quote.