Get a Quote for Car Insurance in California Today!
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Van Nuys?
If you’re driving in Van Nuys or other parts of California, you better have proof of car insurance with you at all times. Driving without car insurance in the state can lead to some steep fines. Even if you are insured but don’t have proof of insurance with you when you get pulled over, you could be fined up to $900. You can get that fine knocked down to $25 by going to traffic court and showing proof of insurance.
Uninsured motorists in California will also face other issues besides high fines. Under the state’s “No-pay, No-play” comparative negligence system, uninsured motorists can’t receive any non-economic damages like pain and suffering after an accident.
A first offense for driving without insurance could result in $100 – $200 fines and penalties. Getting caught without car insurance will also bump your insurance premiums up about 35% when you get coverage. Within three years of your first offense, other offenses will mean fines of $200-$500 and other penalties.
Get a Quote for Car Insurance in Van Nuys Today!
Although the cost of car insurance in Van Nuys can be high, the fines and potential legal bills you may face if you are uninsured and get in an accident could be much higher. So, it’s a good idea to make sure you at least have the minimum liability coverage required by the state of California.