Driving without insurance in California is not a good idea. Fines for first-time offenders are between $100 and $200 on top of penalty assessment fees. Second offenses see increased fines, ranging between $500 and $2000 on top of the $520 to $1,300 penalty assessments. That means a $500 fine can end up costing up to $1,800, putting a severe dent in your wallet.
Plus, if you get caught driving without insurance after an accident, you can have your license suspended by the state for one year, along with fines, towing, and storage fees from your impounded vehicle.
Remember, all California drivers must carry minimum liability insurance of $15,000 for injury/death to one person, $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person, and $5,000 for property damage.