Once known as home to the hippie and beatnik countercultures, San Francisco is now ranked seventh for having the highest incomes in the U.S. According to the website Department of Numbers, the 2019 median income for households in San Francisco is $135,968.
- The average cost of car insurance in San Francisco is $2,169.
- Insurance companies can’t consider gender or credit scores when determining your rate for auto insurance in San Francisco.
Driving Conditions in San Francisco
How Many Fatal Accidents Happen in San Francisco?
In 2020, there were 29 traffic fatalities on the streets of San Francisco, 16 of which involved vehicles and motorcycles. That number doesn’t include how many traffic-related deaths were reported on area freeways. Two of the fatalities were caused by a drunk driver.
The city of San Francisco adopted its Vision Zero policy in 2014, intending to eliminate traffic death on city streets by 2024. San Francisco residents are encouraged to walk, bike, or ride public transit instead of driving a car.
How Are the Road Infrastructure and Bridges in San Francisco?
About 941 miles of roads are maintained by the city of San Francisco Public Works Department. The city is working on $5.6 billion in active road projects.
In 2011, San Francisco adopted the Road Repaving and Street Safety Bond Program that dedicated $248 million for street resurfacing, streetscape, and traffic signal upgrade projects. The city’s Vision Zero initiative to eliminate traffic fatalities also provides funds for roadway repaving and renewing crosswalks.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in San Francisco
California has one of the lowest requirements for minimum liability coverage that drivers are required to carry for car insurance.
The state minimums for car insurance coverage in California are:
- $15,000 for Bodily Injury Liability per person
- $30,000 for Total Bodily Injury Liability
- $5,000 for Property Damage Liability
California doesn’t require drivers to carry comprehensive or collision insurance. The state also allows drivers to forgo standard insurance from an insurance company if they have any of the following:
- A cash deposit of $35,000 with DMV
- DMV-issued self-insurance certificate
- Surety bond for $35,000 from a company licensed to do business in California
Factors Allowed in San Francisco Car Insurance Rates
Your gender can not be a factor in determining your rates for car insurance in San Francisco or the rest of California. Insurance companies also can’t consider your credit score when figuring out your rate.
Things that can affect your car insurance rates in San Francisco include:
- Driving history
- Car type
- Marital status
Discounts for Car Insurance in San Francisco
Because of the higher-than-average premium rates in the state, you will want to find the best cheap car insurance in San Francisco. Discounts can help with lowering the cost of your car insurance premiums.
- You’ve been a licensed driver for the past three years
- You have no more than one driving point on your record in the last three years
- You haven’t taken traffic school because of traffic violations
- You haven’t had an at-fault accident that caused injury or death
- You don’t have any DUIs or other alcohol-related convictions.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in San Francisco?
Driving without car insurance anywhere in California can lead to some steep fines. Even drivers who are insured but don’t have proof of insurance with them when they get pulled over can face a fine of about $900. You can get that fine knocked down to $25 by going to traffic court and showing proof of insurance.
High fines aren’t the only issue you’ll have if you are an uninsured motorist in California. Under the state’s “No-pay, No-play” comparative negligence system, uninsured motorists can’t receive any non-economic damages like pain and suffering if they are involved in an accident.
Uninsured motorists face $100 to $200 in fines and penalties for a first offense if driving without insurance. Getting caught without car insurance will also bump your insurance premiums up about 35% when you get coverage. Within three years of your first offense, other offenses will mean fines of $200 to $500 and other penalties.