Phoenix is one of the busiest and most populated cities in Arizona. It’s also one of the riskiest cities to drive in throughout the state. Having affordable Phoenix car insurance offers plenty of benefits such as a balanced budget and peace of mind while on the road. When Phoenix has some of the highest insurance rates in the state, having the best deal matters all the more. To find out how much you would pay for car insurance in Phoenix, car insurance companies need to know specific information such as your zip code and the type of insurance you want.
Get Low-Cost Arizona Auto Insurance
Here are some fast facts about Phoenix car insurance:
- Phoenix car insurance costs among the highest in the state.
- The most expensive zip code in Phoenix is 85031, with an average annual rate of $1,801.
- To drive legally in Arizona, you must have your vehicle insured with minimum liability coverage of 25/50/15.
Driving Conditions in Phoenix
The driving conditions in Phoenix are typical of a busy city. Phoenix is one of the largest cities in Arizona. With more people on the road, there are more risks. Be prepared to play some of the state’s highest insurance rates to be well-protected. By working with a local insurance agent, you can find out exactly what you need in your policy to navigate Phoenix safely.
How Many Fatal Accidents Happen in Phoenix?
In 2019, there were 193 fatal accidents in Phoenix. These accidents resulted in 202 deaths. There were also 11,820 injury accidents in which 17,193 were injured. Of these accidents, 60 of the fatal accidents and 722 of the injury accidents were alcohol-related. Individuals who have DUIs are restricted to DUI insurance for at least two years after this type of incident.
In the state, there are around 900 to 1,000 fatal accidents in Arizona per year. There are also around 35,000 accidents that result in injury per year. By implementing defensive driving strategies and avoiding drugs or alcohol when behind the wheel, you can make the road safer for all Arizona motorists.
How Are the Road Infrastructure and Bridges in Phoenix?
Based on a 2020 report, the road infrastructure and bridges in Phoenix are rated a C for its infrastructure. This is higher than the national average of D+. Arizona’s highways are also known for having some of the highest fatality rankings in the country. Stay vigilant on the road and carry comprehensive coverage in Phoenix to be prepared for anything.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Phoenix
The minimum car insurance requirements in Phoenix are the same that apply to the rest of the state. According to ADOT, every vehicle should be covered by liability insurance with at least the minimum 25/50/10 limits. This means there is $25,000 toward bodily injury for one person, $50,000 for two or more people in an accident, and up to $15,000 toward property damage per incident.
Factors Allowed in Phoenix Car Insurance Rates
Arizona law allows car insurance companies to determine premiums based on factors like your location, marital status, homeownership, education, employment, and any other criteria they deem necessary. Drivers can get discounts based on good driving history and other factors that are under the discretion of the car insurance company. Since each company is different, it’s important to shop around.
Discounts for Car Insurance in Phoenix
There are many types of discounts for car insurance in Phoenix that are based on the insurance company’s standards. Discounts may apply to this list but are not limited to:
- Good driver’s discount
- Status as a student
- Employment affiliation
- Membership in certain associations like AAA
- Installing anti-theft or vehicle tracking device
- Senior safety driving class completion
- Taking a driver improvement class
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Phoenix?
The penalties for driving without insurance in Phoenix are the same as the state’s overarching laws. The consequences, which involve a fine and license suspension period, are more extensive after repeat offenses.
- First offense: A fine of $500 and a three-month driver’s license and registration suspension. An SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility is also required for two years.
- Second offense: A fine of $750 and a six-month driver’s license and registration suspension. An SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility is also required for two years.
- Third offense: A fine of $1,000 and a one-year driver’s license and registration suspension. An SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility is also required for two years.
Get a Phoenix Car Insurance Quote Today!
Get started with a quote online, visit us at a Phoenix office near you, or call us at (800) 777-5620 for a quote today!