Finding the best Arizona car insurance for you offers peace of mind, and working with a local agent is the easiest way to do it. By comparing the most competitive quotes at once, you can make the best decision for your budget and coverage needs.
Driving in Arizona involves many adventures on the road with incredible sights, and having the right vehicle coverage can give you peace of mind while you’re on the road. Read on to find out what type of Arizona auto coverage can work for you.
Get Low-Cost Arizona Auto Insurance
Arizona car insurance abides by its unique state laws. Here are some quick facts about Arizona driving laws that you should know.
- It’s illegal to drive without auto insurance in Arizona.
- Arizona is a comparative tort or comparative at-fault state.
- Driving without insurance has serious consequences, including fines, a suspended driver’s license, and a mandatory SR-22 certification to drive on a restricted license.
- Arizona has auto insurance rates that are lower than the national average.
- The average cost of comprehensive auto insurance in Arizona is $1,200 per year.
- The average cost of minimum liability insurance plans is $600 per year.
- Around 20% of drivers in Arizona do not have automobile insurance.
- After a DUI, Arizona drivers can get some driving privileges reinstated with a restricted license and SR-22 insurance.
- The minimum liability requirements for both standard and non-standard auto insurance plans are 25/50/15.
Is There a Good Driver Discount in Arizona?
Yes, there is a good driver discount in Arizona. Drivers who haven’t made claims in years may qualify for a reduced premium. When young drivers mature and enter a less risky age bracket, they can get reduced rates and a good driver discount.
Seniors aged 55 and older may get a reduction in auto insurance rates by taking an online Arizona Mature Driver Course. Different insurance providers honor different types of good driver discounts, so shop around and ask to find the best deals for your driver profile.
Arizona Car Insurance Laws
Arizona car insurance laws generally align with that of other states. It’s illegal to drive without insurance, and non-SR-22 drivers need to carry minimum liability requirements on their policy. Arizona is a comparative at-fault state that can allocate different percentages of responsibility to both parties if there is a fault at both ends. Like other states in the country, DUIs and driving without insurance are met with serious penalties such as fines and license suspensions.
On your Arizona driver’s license, the Department of Transportation (ADOT) will assign you a code based on your insurer and level of coverage, which will be located on your insurance card. If you’re ever in an accident, you will need to share this code.
Arizona is also a comparative at-fault state, which means that the driver at fault must have their insurance pay for any damages or bills from the collision. The costs can also be shared if both drivers have some part of the blame in the accident, splitting the costs into percentages, such as 50/50 or 75/25.
What Are the Mandatory Car Insurance Requirements in Arizona?
The mandatory car insurance requirements in Arizona are 25/50/15, which represent $25,000 for bodily injury for one person, $50,000 for bodily injury for two or more people, and $15,000 for property damage. If you need SR-22 DUI insurance, the policy must also cover these minimum protection limits.
Though these low minimums are affordable, they often don’t provide enough coverage for the typical incident in Arizona. Bodily injury can easily exceed $25,000 when it comes to medical bills. Not to mention, there is no protection against uninsured drivers or random acts of nature such as fallen trees or hitting debris on the road. Comprehensive coverage offers significant benefits that often outweigh saving money every month. To upgrade your plan from minimum liability to comprehensive, talk to an Arizona auto insurance agent today.
What Factors Does Arizona Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?
Arizona law allows car insurance companies to determine premiums based on their discretion. Factors like where you live, marital status, homeownership, educational institution affiliation, credit score, and employment affiliation can be part of the equation. Drivers can also find additional policy, driver, and vehicle discounts specific to the insurance company’s offerings.
To not miss any of these discounts, tell your insurance agent everything that could benefit you, such as your good driving history, any association memberships, driving classes, and more. Also, don’t settle for just one quote either, but shop around to get the best deal with the best deal for your dollar.
What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Arizona?
The penalty for driving without insurance in Arizona gets steeper with each repeat offense. It typically involves a fine, license and registration suspension, and mandatory SR-22 insurance to re-obtain car insurance and driving privileges. The fines and suspension periods increase if you continue to get caught driving without auto insurance.
- First offense: A fine of $500 and a three-month driver’s license and registration suspension. An SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility is also required for two years.
- Second offense: A fine of $750 and a six-month driver’s license and registration suspension. An SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility is also required for two years.
- Third offense: A fine of $1,000 and a one-year driver’s license and registration suspension. An SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility is also required for two years.
Car insurance rates go up or down with the level of risk posed in each location. There are also different average rates for zip codes within a select city.
How Many Motorists Are Uninsured/Underinsured in Arizona?
Around 20% of Arizona motorists are uninsured. This is higher than the national average of 13%. Arizona car insurance has some of the lowest minimums in the country, so it serves to get covered with a comprehensive plan.
When you have a one-fifth chance of encountering an uninsured motorist at the scene of an accident, it’s higher than the probability of rolling a specific number on a six-sided die. Though it’s not as bad as a coin flip, it’s a high enough chance to not risk on the road. When your finances, health, and assets are at stake, get coverage and protection against others who can put you at risk.
FAQs About Arizona Car Insurance
If you are a low-income driver, you can do a few things to get affordable car insurance in Arizona. Thankfully, Arizona has some of the lowest rates in the country. Follow these tips to get cheaper insurance:
- Drive a car that costs less to insure, like a safe used car that is known for affordable repairs.
- Ask about auto insurance deals such as good driver or anti-theft device discounts.
- Increase your deductible to lower your monthly payment.
- Drop optional insurance coverages and stick to just the minimum liability limits.
- Get part-time (non-owners) driver’s insurance and share a car with someone else.
- Carpool to reduce your daily mileage.
- Pay your premium upfront for a discount.
These options can reduce your premium and make operating your vehicle more affordable. Overall, avoid insuring a risky vehicle like a sports car or a brand-new experimental vehicle. The more familiar the market is with a car’s safety ratings and advantages, the easier it is to find affordable insurance rates for it.
Yes, an undocumented worker can get car insurance or a driver’s license in Arizona — but they must have a work permit and be protected from deportation. Under Arizona state law, a worker can only get a state-issued driver’s license if they can prove that they have permission to be in the country.
Right now, only 17 states or districts officially allow undocumented people to have drivers’ licenses: Washington D.C., California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington, but they still require some proof of identity and evidence of residency in the state.
Yes, it is possible to get car insurance in Arizona with a DUI mark on your record. However, you will need to use a restricted license and obtain an SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility. Your insurance agent must file this document to the DMV. SR-22 insurance is a high-risk insurance plan that only a few insurance companies can issue. The costs of DUI insurance can be manageable when you work with an agent and explore your payment options.
Though it costs more than standard plans, it’s better than losing your license altogether. An SR-22 will enable you to drive to work, school, the hospital, and to get basic amenities without needing to depend on others for a ride. This freedom is worth the cost, which can be temporary if you abide by the rules.
Get Arizona Car Insurance Quote Today!
Get started with a quote online, visit us at an Arizona office near you, or call us at (800) 777-5620 for a quote today!