Undocumented Driver’s Licenses – Current Status of Approved States

A growing number of states now have laws that allow undocumented immigrants living in their respective states to apply for driver’s licenses. Although each state varies in its specific requirements and dates when these laws go into effect, they all emphasize the importance and necessity of driver training and education requirements.

Washington, Utah, Colorado, New Mexico, Illinois, Vermont, Maryland, Connecticut, Nevada, Oregon*, California now have laws giving access to driver’s licenses regardless of immigration status.

Several other states have pending laws; Arizona and Nebraska do not grant licensees to undocumented immigrants.

Presented below is a chart to direct you to resources with detailed information for the states impacted by these laws.

Undocumented Driver’s Licenses – Current Status of Approved States

    STATE                   EFFECTIVE                        FOR INFORMATION

WashingtonApply nowhttp://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/idproof.html
UtahApply nowhttp://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/dpc.htm
New MexicoApply nowhttp://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/Drivers/Licensing/pages/How-to-get-a-New-Mexico-Driver-License.aspx
Connecticut  Apply nowhttp://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=805&q=244774#deferred
OregonOn hold*http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/index.aspx


*DMV has suspended implementation of the Driver Card program pending the outcome of a statewide referendum vote in the November 2014 election. The Oregon Secretary of State’s Office announced Oct. 18 that a referendum on Senate Bill 833 has qualified for the ballot, so the law will not go into effect as scheduled.  If the results of the election reverse the legislation, DMV will cancel all work on the Driver Card program. If the election upholds the legislation, DMV will launch the Driver Card program 30 days after the results are official.