If caught driving without insurance in Ford du Lac or Wisconsin, expect severe consequences.
All first-time offenders can expect to pay a $500 fine with all driving privileges suspended until they pay a $50 vehicle registration and a $60 license reinstatement fee. From there, you’d be required to file an SR-22, a Certificate of Financial responsibility proving to the state you are carrying the minimum required coverage. SR-22 insurance remains on file for three years.
If you’re caught driving with a fake insurance card, fines are even higher (up to $5,000)
Remember, all Wisconsin drivers must carry a 25/50/10 policy, or $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident, and $10,000 property damage per accident. Even a single lapsed day of coverage could cause your insurer to notify the state.