Driving without insurance in Burlington-South Burlington will have you face severe consequences.
First-time offenders will see an up-to-$500 fine and their driving privileges suspended until proof of insurance is provided to the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 20 days of being stopped. You will also need to file for SR-22 insurance, which proves to the state you are carrying the minimum required coverage. SR-22 insurance will remain on file for a minimum of three years.
Worse of all, with an SR-22 on file, your premiums will most likely skyrocket. Depending on your driving record and past claims history, it may double, or even triple, in some instances. Remember, all Vermont drivers must purchase liability insurance with 25/50/10 limits.