Driving without insurance in Louisiana will subject you to harsh penalties and aggravation.
For first-time offenses, expect fines up to $1,000 if you fail to provide proof of insurance within three days, on top of reinstatement fees between $60 and $560. In addition, other fees may be assessed based on the number of days your insurance lapses with a $125 fee kicking in with lapsed insurance for 11-30 days, a $275 fee for lapsed insurance between 31-90 days, and a whopping $850 fee for lapsed insurance for more than 90 days.
Additionally, drivers with a DUI on their record should expect to see their monthly premiums skyrocket.
Remember, Louisiana requires that all drivers carry a minimum of 15/30/25 liability coverage.