Auto Insurance News You May Have Missed Week of April 28th 2014

Auto Insurance News 2014

Sex predators could be named on driver’s licenses
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — The words “sexual predator” would be stamped on the driver’s licenses of sexual predators under bill language that was approved in the Florida House. Democratic Rep. Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed pointed out that would mean department store clerks checking licenses for a credit card application would see that the person across the counter would be a sexual predator.

Source: Miami Herald
Get the full story

Farmers Branch Texas Passes Ban on Texting While Driving
Everyone knows that texting and driving is a dangerous practice, and more states and municipalities throughout the United States are passing laws that ban the practice. While Texas doesn’t have a state law banning texting and driving, several DFW municipalities (such as Arlington, Grand Prairie, and now Farmers Branch) have passed their own laws.

Source: Digital Journal
Get the full story

TRAFFIC ROUNDUP: Golf cart drivers shouldn’t be yelling ‘Fore!’
The South Carolina legislature amended golf cart law. The new section indicates that golf cart operators must be at least 16 years of age and have a valid driver’s license. In addition, the Legislature mirrored the requirements for all motor vehicles by mandating that golf cart operators to be in possession of the vehicles registration, proof of insurance and their driver’s license while operating one.


Source:
scnow.com
Get the full story

Preparing for Hail Storms
It’s unpredictable the damage Mother Nature can cause to your car or home, but there are a couple of steps you can take before disaster occurs. “Hail is very serious if it impacts you or your home,” said John Wiscaver, who is the Vice President of Public Affairs for the Oklahoma Farm Bureau Insurance. Hail storms can shatter your car windows or destroy your home’s rooftop.

Source: ktul.com
Get the full story

Auto accident victim is left holding the bill
Research is caught up in the controversy involving hospitals that refuse to accept health insurance from patients after auto accidents. The hospitals instead try to get money from car insurance settlements. They often get paid more because they avoid the discounted payments made by health insurers. If there’s no car insurance settlement, some hospitals directly charge the patient.

Source: The Kansas City Star
Get the full story

E-ZPass transponders available at more Virginia sites
RICHMOND, Va. — Virginia officials are making E-ZPass transponders available at more sites inn Hampton Roads and Richmond. Drivers now can obtain the E-ZPass On-the-Go transponders at 13 Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles locations in the Tidewater area and six locations in the Richmond area.

Source: Washington Times
Get the full story

State grant will be used to purchase license plate readers for the Saugerties Police Department
SAUGERTIES – The Saugerties Police Department is getting two license plate reader packages that will allow the agency to do more with less, the chief said.

Source:
Daily Freeman
Get the Full Story

Williamsport rated among the least expensive Maryland cities for car insurance
Consumer finance site NerdWallet recently conducted a study that determined the most and least expensive cities in Maryland for auto insurance, and Williamsport came in among the least expensive.
Williamsport residents pay an average of $1,150.54 per year, while the state average is $1,368.32 per year, according to NerdWallet.

Source: Heraldmailmedia.com
Get the full story

Lobbyists aim to update rate system for N.C. auto insurance policies
Forbes has once again ranked the Raleigh-Cary area among the best metros for job growth, giving it fourth place for routinely attracting people and companies from California and the Northeast with low tax rates and real estate costs. But when people move to North Carolina, they become subject to a new set of rules for car insurance rates. North Carolina ranks fourth among the top five states in which car insurance premiums go up the most as a result of filing any type of claim over $2,000.

Source:
Bizjournals.com
Get the full story

NY Senate passes bill banning registered sex offenders from driving a school or passenger bus
Registered sex offenders could soon be prohibited from working as bus drivers in New York. The Senate on Monday passed legislation that would prohibit registered sex offenders from driving a school or passenger bus.

Source: NewsDaily
Get the full story